Ann Timmins

Ann Timmins

Website:   www.articobiota.ca

Medium:

Watercolour, acrylic, mural, silk

Artist Biography

My artistic imagery originated in dreams, as a teenager living on our homestead in central BC. I am strongly influenced by my mother’s abstract paintings and my website http://www.articobiota.ca reflects her upbringing in the Argentine and her development as an artist in British Columbia. Our first painting exhibit in 1972, a mother and daughter show, was held at our family farm in Celista, B.C. Subsequently, I attended Foundation Art Courses at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design. After moving to Toronto, I continued my studies at the Ontario College of Art and graduated with honours in textile design. I worked for a carpet manufacturer in Ontario, as designer and dye assistant. Moving to Yellowknife in 1991, I worked with dye on silk, which allowed me to explore
imagery on large commissions. I was commissioned to design and dye paint a 12 panel silk installation for the new Legislative Assembly of the NWT. This led to further commissions and murals in various media. I needed texture, transparency and layers to paint the northern landscape so I worked with acrylics. I also enjoy the subtle colour interaction of watercolour on rag media. My northern paintings may be viewed online http://www.articobiota.ca/originals.html
After 25 years in the north, we moved to a century old farm on Cobequid Bay, where my lifestyle has been re-orientated to the tides, the ever changing landscapes and colours. Currently, I am working on a new body of work to embrace the influence of the Fundy shore.

Leave a Reply

