Denise Lanterman

Medium
Acrylic

Artist’s Background

I have always loved art and began my earliest explorations by studying art history in university. This led to a desire to to create my own art. I am mainly self taught but have benefited greatly from attending workshops taught by many accomplished artists in Nova Scotia and British Columbia, where I lived for many years. I paint in acrylic on canvas. My chosen subjects are abstracts and impressionistic and envisioned seascapes and coastal horizons. Through colour, simplicity and balance, I hope to convey a sense of calm , peace and quietness in my paintings. My work is represented by Teichert Gallery and ArtZone Gallery in Halifax. I have been in innumerable juried group show and have sold my work in both Canada and internationally. I was honoured to have one of my paintings included in the 2013 Peggy’s Cove Festival of the Arts Calendar. In 2015 my work took second place across Canada in The Society of Canadian Artist’s on line competition.

Artist’s Statement

I paint in acrylic on canvas and paper. Through colour and simplicity I try to convey a sense of calm and quietness in my work. My chosen subjects are abstracts and impressionistic seascapes and coastal  horizons. They don’t represent an actual place but are rather, an emotional response to place, heart and mind.
Leave a Reply

